Filmfare Awards


Filmfare The Filmfare Awards are the most important awards in Indian cinema, awarded annually by the largest media conglomerate in India: "The Times Group", since 1954. They are the most prominent and recognized awards in Bollywood. The award ceremony has been one of the oldest and most important events in the history of Indian cinema.


Prizes are awarded based on both public opinion and the vote of the jurors.





Full List of Filmfare Awards (2015 to 2023)




The first Filmfare Awards ceremony was held on March 21, 1954 at the Metro Theater in Mumbai, India. Only five awards were given: Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress and Best Musical Director. The first film to win the Best Picture award was "Bigha Zameen." At first they were known as "Clare Awards" or "Las Clares" in honor of Clare Mendonca, the editor of The Times of India.


Now the number of awards has increased to 31. And apart from this, there are also "Critics Awards", whose decision does not involve the public, but the best critics of the films are their judges.


The Filmfare figurine


The statuette of the Filmfare Awards represents a woman with her arms raised in a dance number, it is commonly known as "The Black Lady" or "The Lady in Black". Originally designed by sculptor N.G. I will pansare. It is made of bronze, stands 46.5 cm tall and weighs around 5 kg. The Filmfare trophy has been manufactured by The Award Gallery since 2000.


The red carpet


The Filmafare Awards, like the major awards worldwide, also have a red carpet, which takes place before the start of the ceremony. Actors, actresses, producers, directors, singers, composers and others who have contributed to Indian cinema are featured.



Filmfare Awards Statistics

Below we present updated reports and statistics of the Filmfare Awards, taking into account the editions made from the year 2015 to 2023.


What are the films that have won the most Filmfare Awards?

The films that have won the most Filmfare awards, between 2015 and 2023 are: Gully Boy (13 awards), Gangubai Kathiawadi (9 awards) and Sadar Udham (9 awards). Here are the 10 films that have won the most Filmfare Awards:


Movie Awards  
Gully Boy (2019) 13
Gangubai Kathiawadi (2022) 9
Sadar Udham (2021) 9
Bajirao Mastani (2015) 9
Shershaah (2021) 7
Thappad (2020) 7
Badhaai Do (2022) 6
Gulabo Sitabo (2020) 6
Neerja (2016) 6
Queen (2014) 6


Which director has won the most Filmfare Awards?

The directors who have won the Filmfare award for Best Director the most between 2015 and 2023 are: Sanjay Leela Bhansali (2 awards), Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari (2 awards) and Meghna Gulzar (1 awards).


Director Awards  
Sanjay Leela Bhansali Sanjay Leela Bhansali 2
Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari 2
Meghna Gulzar Meghna Gulzar 1
Vishnuvardhan Vishnuvardhan 1
Zoya Akhtar Zoya Akhtar 1
Vikas Bahl Vikas Bahl 1
Konkona Sen Sharma Konkona Sen Sharma 1
Om Raut Om Raut 1
Nitesh Tiwari Nitesh Tiwari 1
Neeraj Ghaywan Neeraj Ghaywan 1


Which actor has won the most Filmfare Awards?

The actors who have won the Filmfare award the most times between 2015 and 2023 are: Ranveer Singh (3 awards), Anil Kapoor (2 awards) and Irrfan Khan (2 awards).


Actor Awards  
Ranveer Singh Ranveer Singh 3
Anil Kapoor Anil Kapoor 2
Irrfan Khan Irrfan Khan 2
Rajkummar Rao Rajkummar Rao 2
Aamir Khan Aamir Khan 1
Ranbir Kapoor Ranbir Kapoor 1
Rishi Kapoor Rishi Kapoor 1
Gajraj Rao Gajraj Rao 1
Diljit Dosanjh Diljit Dosanjh 1
Saif Ali Khan Saif Ali Khan 1


Which actress has won the most Filmfare Awards?

The actresses who have won the Filmfare award the most times between 2015 and 2023 are: Alia Bhatt (4 awards), Kriti Sanon (2 awards) and Tabu (1 awards).


Actress Awards  
Alia Bhatt Alia Bhatt 4
Kriti Sanon Kriti Sanon 2
Tabu Tabu 1
Surekha Sikri Surekha Sikri 1
Priyanka Chopra Priyanka Chopra 1
Kangana Ranaut Kangana Ranaut 1
Shabana Azmi Shabana Azmi 1
Deepika Padukone Deepika Padukone 1
Ritika Singh Ritika Singh 1
Vidya Balan Vidya Balan 1