Razzie Awards

Razzie The Razzie Awards, also known as the Golden Raspberry Awards, are an award ceremony that pays tribute to the worst cinematographic achievements, awarded annually by the Golden Raspberry Award Foundation, in the United States since 1981.


The awards ceremony is usually held the day before the Oscars and awards are given to the worst actors, writers, musicians, directors, and films produced by the film industry for that year.




Complete List of Razzie Awards (1981 to 2024)



History of the Razzie Awards

The first Razzie Awards ceremony was held in 1981, at the initiative of filmmakers and film critics John J. B. Wilson and Maureen Murphy, as a comedic criticism of the Academy Awards. The events are held informally but each year has received more attention from the media and the entertainment press.


Several Razzie Award winners have accepted their award including Sandra Bullock, Halle Berry, Bill Cosby, Tom Green, Paul Verhoeven, and Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, among others.


The Razzie Awards statuette

The trophy is shaped like a plastic raspberry, the size of a golf ball, on top of a roll of gold-colored film. Its face value is $ 4.89.



The members of the Razzie Award Organization are made up of filmmakers and moviegoers from around the world who vote to choose the winners each year.



In 2010, actress Sandra Bullock received the Razzie for worst actress for All About Steve, and the next day she received the Oscar for best actress for The Blind Side.


In 2004, actor Ben Affleck broke the Razzie award for worst actor he received on the Larry King Show. The broken trophy was sold on eBay.


Also in 2004, actress Halle Berry became the first actress to attend the gala to receive the Razzie Award for worst actress for her portrayal of Catwoman. The actress took home the Oscar Award from her that she received for the movie Monster's Ball.


In 1996, director Paul Verhoeven became the first person to receive a Razzie in person at the awards ceremony, collecting the worst director award for Showgirls.


In 1998, screenwriter Brian Helgeland became the first person to receive a Razzie Award for the film Messenger from the Future and an Oscar for the film for the film L.A. Confidential, in the same year.


There is a category of the Razzie Awards, called Razzie Redeemer, which is awarded to actors who have gone through bad performances to a very good performance. That is the case of actor Sylvester Stallone, who after receiving 9 Razzie awards in previous years, in 2015 was awarded the Razzie Redeemer Award for the film Credd.


Actor Adam Sandler is the first actor to receive the worst actress award for his role as Jill in the film Jack & Jill.


The Razzie Awards have received much criticism from other filmmakers and producers stating that anyone can join the Golden Raspberry Foundation, as long as they pay at least $ 40 a year to become a member of the organization.


Razzie Awards Statistics

Below we present updated reports and statistics of the Razzie Awards, taking into account the editions made from the year 1981 to 2024.


What are the films that have won the most Razzie Awards?

The films that have won the most Razzie Awards, between 1981 and 2024 are: Jack and Jill (11 awards), Battlefield Earth (9 awards) and I Know Who Killed Me (8 awards). Here are the 10 films that have won the most Razzies Awards:


Movie Awards  
Jack and Jill (2011) 11
Battlefield Earth (2000) 9
I Know Who Killed Me (2007) 8
Showgirls (1995) 8
The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 2 (2012) 7
Gigli (2003) 7
Bolero (1984) 7
The Lonely Lady (1983) 7
Cats (2019) 6
Striptease (1996) 6


Which director has won the most Razzie Awards?

The directors who have won the Razzie award for Worst Director the most between 1981 and 2024 are: Michael Bay (2 awards), Dennis Dugan (2 awards) and M. Night Shyamalan (2 awards).


Director Awards  
Michael Bay Michael Bay 2
Dennis Dugan Dennis Dugan 2
M. Night Shyamalan M. Night Shyamalan 2
John Derek John Derek 2
Guy Ritchie Guy Ritchie 1
Tom Hooper Tom Hooper 1
Josh Trank Josh Trank 1
Gus Van Sant Gus Van Sant 1
Bill Condon Bill Condon 1
Sylvester Stallone Sylvester Stallone 1


Which actor has won the most Razzie Awards?

The actors who have won the Razzie award for Worst Actor between 1981 and 2024 are: Sylvester Stallone (6 awards), Adam Sandler (4 awards) and Donald Trump (3 awards).


Actor Awards  
Sylvester Stallone Sylvester Stallone 6
Adam Sandler Adam Sandler 4
Donald Trump Donald Trump 3
Kevin Costner Kevin Costner 3
Eddie Murphy Eddie Murphy 2
John Travolta John Travolta 2
Hayden Christensen Hayden Christensen 2
Dan Aykroyd Dan Aykroyd 2
Jared Leto Jared Leto 2
Kelsey Grammer Kelsey Grammer 2


Which actress has won the most Razzie Awards?

The actresses who have won the Razzie award for Worst Actress the most between 1981 and 2024 are: Madonna (7 awards), Demi Moore (3 awards) and Megan Fox (3 awards).


Actress Awards  
Madonna Madonna 7
Demi Moore Demi Moore 3
Megan Fox Megan Fox 3
Paris Hilton Paris Hilton 3
Bo Derek Bo Derek 3
Melissa McCarthy Melissa McCarthy 2
Sharon Stone Sharon Stone 2
Sofia Coppola Sofia Coppola 2
Lindsay Lohan Lindsay Lohan 2
Melanie Griffith Melanie Griffith 2